Movie Ratings

Click for Book Reviews

movie reviews

0-2… Nope. Never. Don’t waste your time.

2-4.. Might watch again. To make fun of it.

4-7… Some good things. Decent if you’re in the mood or with friends.

7-9… Would watch again. Maybe some hesitation.

9-10… Continuous loop. Watch every week (or at least once a year)

Movie Title–Rating

**Black/Gray text has a full review, Red text does not

Shelf Of Movies

A Quiet Place–9.5/10

Jim from the Office finds the only thing more terrifying than Dwight… Super fast, super freaky monsters

Observance–8.9/10

Can we just admit that low-budget films are often better? This one definitely is. I wish I understood the ending.

Orphan–8.7/10

Fairly predictable movie, but the last 20 minutes makes it one of the best.

The Boy–8.5/10

Similar to Orphan, it’s your basic scare with a huge twist.

Let Me In–8.5/10

A unique vampire movie that is touching, scary, and memorable.

A qUiet Place (PT. 2)– 8.5/10

The first big post-Covid movie, and one that is guaranteed to leave a lasting impression.

Conjuring 2–8.4/10

This actually improves on the first one, with more character moments and great plotting.

Zodiac–8.4/10

Super long, super intense, super confusing… super great.

Last Night in Soho–8.2/10

Probably my favorite scary/thriller movie of 2021. It’s got heart, nostalgia, and a great ending. It’s also surprisingly relevant, despite being set partially in the 60s.

The Others–8.2/10

A scary movie about a haunted mansion… or is it? This movie has the best kind of ending. I never saw it coming. Very good. I’m tired.

Conjuring 3–8.1/10

The excellent sequel I didn’t expect. Fascinating plot choices lead to a thrilling conclusion. (I also talk a bit about the Conjuring series as a whole, up to this point.)

I Am the Pretty Thing That Lives in the House– 8/10

I’m a sucker for older-set, Gothic films. This is one of the best. I love the ambiguous ending.

The Crazies–8/10

The Purge: Western Style… with lots more blood. And guns. And a great sheriff. You should watch it, but not if you’re out in the country or alone on a farm. No way.

Murder on the Orient Express (2017)–8/10

Not scary? Yeah, kind of, maybe. I just wanted an excuse to review this great movie.

The Lodge (2019)–7.9/10

This movie is dense, and there’s a lot to unpack. But ultimately, it’s a chilling story, a memorable family, and the good far outweighs the bad.

Us–7.7/10

Crazy amount of suspense; fitting finish. 0% cliche. (Maybe 15%, after you’ve seen The Invitation.)

Conjuring–7.7/10

The first film in a new series; possibly the best horror movie of this decade. A must-see.

Cabin in the Woods–7.6/10

One of the more intriguing horror movies, complete with its own conspiracies. Hits all the notes it aims for.

sinister–7.5/10

Terrifying, one of the best horror movies I’ve seen. Beware the tapes.

Carrie (2013)–7.5/10

Lots of blood and scares in one of Stephen King’s best stories.

The Shining–7.5/10

Definitely a classic, very slow at the beginning part; climax makes up for it. ❤ the setting. Mazes are creepy.

Insidious– 7.2/10

Interesting movie, good scares, but holds up a lot better because of the sequels.

13 Cameras– 7/10

This is one of those movies you’ll never forget. Check for cameras.

The Amityville Horror (2005)–7/10

The slow descent to insanity and a house that won’t let you leave alive. One of the rare excellent-remakes.

Extremely Wicked, Shockingly Evil, and Vile–7.1/10

This movie is impressive for its emotional pull and its acting, but also how they recreated real-life scenes. Definitely worth 1 (singular) watch.

Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning (2006)–7/10

Chainsaws, blood. This movie is so gruesome it’s frightening and I never wanna go to Texas. Also, Matt Bomer.

Scary Stories TO Tell In the Dark–7/10

One unique death, great first hour, not so great finish. Movie tickets are expensive.

You Get Me–7/10

Bella Thorne somehow found her way into this very good movie. She fills out the “stalker” role well.

What Lies Beneath–6.9/10

Harrison Ford, a mysterious lake, and lots of blood. What could be better? (P.S. Are there any other Harrison Ford-horror movies? I need them…)

Friday the 13th–6.5/10

Good movie; I can see why it’s a classic. Great death scenes even by today’s standards. Loved meeting Jason’s momma!

The babysitter–6.5/10

I don’t usually like funny horror movies but this one was good enough. Great movie for a sleepover or something.

Insidious 3–6.5/10

Creepy movie, solid horror, with lots of jump scares and a good story line.

Insidious 2– 6.5/10

Similar to the first; keeps the scariness factor high.

Dead Silence–6.2/10

A surprisingly good, very mysterious horror movie. And the clown doll is the worst.

The INvitation–6.1/10

Really good buildup to the climax, which didn’t quite hold up. Also, Us sort of stole this movie’s red lantern twist and that makes me sad.

Jigsaw–6/10

Jigsaw is much more than chainsaws. Refreshing twist at the end. Please, no more Saw movies.

The Curse of La Llorona–5.5/10

Not nearly as good as the Conjuring; way better than the Nun. Very frightening, but could have used more character building.

Hush–5.5/10

This was surprisingly good and not as quiet as I expected. A solid movie, nothing spectacular.

The Ring–5.2/10

A scary girl from a well and lots of mystery… and a killer video tape. Better than it sounds. Good end.

It: Chapter One (2017)–5/10

Not great. Too long. Bullies are good. Town is good. Clown is just funny, though.

ANNABELLE COMES HOME–5/10

Maybe worth a second watch. Few too many cliches. All I want is Conjuring 3.

The Babadook–5/10

I understand why this movie was so acclaimed, but it feels like it was missing something.

Annabelle–5/10

A prequel to Conjuring, this one is weird. Like…. weird cat demons-level weird.

Sinister 2–5/10

Scary like the first, but with a much different ending. Not-as-good characters.

The Witch–4.9/10

This was the closest I’ve come to falling asleep during a horror movie. The last 30 minutes didn’t save it. Such a weird ending. A let-down.

It: Chapter Two (2019)–4.5/10

Bullies aren’t scary. Clown isn’t scary. Somehow, it’s substantially worse than the first.

He’s Out There–4.5/10

A movie with a lot of good threads, but they never tied together in a fitting way.

Split–4.5/10

Good movie, interesting plot, just too many jokes for my tastes.

Slenderman–4.5/10

Saw right before the Nun at a drive-in. Both crazy boring. This was at least… trying to be weird, and kind of did that.

Aftermath– 4.3/10

This movie swings between excellent “Oh!” moments and even more *cringes visibly* moments. Plenty to like and hate.

The Nun–4.2/10

Just… really not exciting. Pretty boring. Maybe it’s because I had high expectations from the Conjuring attachment.

(Guest) Cult of Chucky–4/10

Not scary. Maybe watch for a good laugh. Dolls are fun.

Mama–4/10

The only lasting impact this has is to make you a moth-killing crazy person.

The Stepfather–4/10

One of the most generic, laughable movies. Has Penn Badgley from YOU, if you’re into that.

Autopsy of Jane Doe–3/10

This movie’s premise could have been done better, but was kind of limited by the story line.

Unborn–3/10

Not a good movie, but you’ll never forget Eli.

The Town That Dreaded Sundown (2014)–3/10

One of the many sequels/remakes I’ve watched. Nice attempt at a twist.

Taking of Deborah Logan–3/10

One of the weirdest possession movies I’ve ever seen… Little too weird…

THe Bye-Bye Man–2/10

Resisting the obvious “bye-bye” joke. This movie reminded me of a 3-review, obscure Amazon movie I watched. Not a good thing.

VHS–2/10

Um… very graphic movie, and not a story line, so yeah. A two.

Krampus–0/10.

Waste of money, with a bad Santa that has elf clown puppet demonic crap things. I think this is the only 0 I’ll ever give, to be honest.

List of Movies

Christmas Horror Movies List

A list of mostly terrible Christmas movies.

Christmas Horror Movies List 

A second list of mostly terrible Christmas movies.

Halloween Horror for Hairy, Scary People…

I mean. It’s a list of some good and some frightening movies! But mostly eh.

<><><><><><><><>

One-Time
Monthly

Support my Writing and my Website!

Make a monthly donation

Choose an amount

$1.00
$5.00
$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
$100.00

Or enter a custom amount

$

Thank you so much! If you email me with proof of your donation, I’ll review any book or horror movie you want.

Your contribution is appreciated.

DonateDonate monthly

2 thoughts on “Movie Ratings

  1. I liked You’re Next, Rigormortis and The Train to Busan, also In The Tall Grass and Hush are good!!!

    P S.
    Oh come on, We really enjoyed Krampus!!! Lol

    Like

    1. I just couldn’t handle the little elf robot minions! But I’ll definitely check out the others you mentioned. Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s